I never did complete my sabbatical. The fourth week never happened for a variety of reasons – mainly I ran out of time and had other work commitments. My plan in the fourth week was to travel up to Inverness via RSPB reserves at Insh Marshes and Loch Garten to visit Nigg Bay reserve and Loch Ruthven. Maybe I will in the spring.

Despite this, the 3 weeks I did have were enjoyable and I saw some fantastic places. I also collected very useful climate impact stories – changes happening now. The remaining task for me is to write up these stories into case studies.

I have now worked out how many miles I travelled. Here is the final total.

Total miles travelled – 953

Total miles by train – 758

Total miles by bike – 193

Total miles walked – 2 (way back in June when I visited Barons Haugh)

Wow, nearly 1000 miles. But the point of going without the car was to 1) show it is possible and 2) show that you can reduce your carbon footprint when you visit nature. So how much CO2 did I save?

If I travelled to all 10 reserves by car in the same schedule I would have travelled 843 miles.

Car travel – 843 miles – 173.6kg CO2

This was calculated on the basis of using a small car. If it was a large car the total could have doubled to 349kg CO2. I used the calculator at http://www.transportdirect.info/Web2/JourneyPlanning/JourneyEmissionsCompare.aspx 

On my journeys the only CO2 came from train travel and the ferry (ferry not included as I would have used this with a car journey also).

Train travel – 758 miles – 68.5kg CO2

Therefore, my green travel saved 105.1kg CO2 or you could say that I emitted 60% less carbon than if I had travelled by car.

CO2 and other nasties
