When I was 11 my family went on a holiday to Mull. I remember we took the short ferry journey across from the Morven peninsula to Fishnish Bay. The thing I remember most clearly was looking down into the inky black water and seeing thousands of huge bulbous jellyfish, the ferry cutting it’s way cutting through them.   My ferry to Coll today passed through the same waters of the Sound of Mull, but no jellyfish this time. A solitary porpoise was the highlight, and I nearly missed that save for a friendly passenger nudging me in the back to show me. No white tailed eagles circling over Mull, no exciting seabirds (none that I could identify). It was windy up on the observation deck and not sunbathing weather so I did retreat to the lower decks before we reached Tobermory. So I didn’t see much wildlife today but I’m sure I will not be short of wonderful things to see this week on Coll and Tiree.

Corncrake
Andy Hay (rspb-images.com)

I’m looking forward to visiting the RSPB reserve tomorrow and finding out what impacts climate change is having out here on the islands. And perhaps, if I am very lucky, I might see a secretive corncrake.

 

